top of page
  • Writer's pictureLex & Mad

What It's Like to Apply Early Decision


There are two ways to apply to medical school: regular rolling admissions and Early Decision. A few months before I applied, I knew I had a top choice medical school, but my plan was to increase my options by applying to both MD and DO schools. The idea to apply Early Decision to my top choice school never crossed my mind until speaking to my advisor. She recommended me as a strong applicant; thus, I took a risk and applied to my medical school Early Decision.


By applying Early Decision, it was best to have all of my application materials submitted to my school’s pre-health advisory committee by early July since the medical school needed to decide whether or not they would offer me an interview at the beginning of the application cycle. I received my secondary application from the school shortly after (late July/early August) and, once they received it, was granted an interview.


The first interviews my medical school has are with all of the ED applicants. On the day of my interview, I was very nervous. It was make-it or break-it. If the school chose to deny my admission, I could still apply to other schools; however, my application would be received much later than other applicants – putting me at a disadvantage.


My school participates in three classic one-on-one interviews, and in true fashion, I was almost late to the first one. Thankfully, they didn’t hold that against me. Everyone I interviewed with was so welcoming and kind to me, and I never felt like I was having to prove my worth. I truly appreciated the refreshing feeling of being recruited – which is so rare in the medical school application process.


At my school, the admissions committee meets the afternoon of interview day, and I was supposed to find out whether I was accepted or not by the very next day. However, due to the high volume of Early Decision applicants my year, they needed to have two ED interview days one week apart. Thus, I spent 7 long days waiting.


The moment all of my hard work, patience, and prayers paid off was one of the most rewarding days I’ve had. Getting accepted to medical school is one of the greatest accomplishments; however, the journey definitely was not uncomplicated and effortless. I suggest finding a solid, reliable advisor and gaining his/her input on your decision to apply early. Oftentimes, your school’s pre-health advisor has many years of experience working with students and is instrumental in acquiring their professional school acceptances.




7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Applying to Medical School Costs HOW MUCH?!

Disclaimer: students who went to college out of state tend to apply to WAY more schools than students who went to college in state. I’m from Florida and went to college in Alabama, so I applied to med

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page